Student Org of the Week: The University of Iowa Bowling Club

Hey all! This week we are featuring The University of Iowa Bowling Club. As per usual, their President shared her thoughts with us on their organization and why you should join it! Although bowling puns are right up my ALLEY, I will SPARE you the misery and let you peruse Lauren’s responses. 

Q. What is the name of your organization? Do you go by any nicknames or abbreviations? 

A. The University of Iowa Bowling Club

Q. What is the purpose/mission of your organization? 

A. It is the Bowling Club’s mission to bring together students that enjoy the sport of bowling, to participate in competitions, and to create a community of teammates and friends.

Q. What days/times does your organization typically meet? Do you have any upcoming/recurring events you would like to be made known? 

A. The University of Iowa Bowling Club practices every week on Sundays at 7:00pm at the Colonial Lanes Bowling Alley in Iowa City.  Every year the Bowling Club participates in 5 to 6 conference tournaments around the Wisconsin and Iowa area.

bowling2

Q. Why did you personally get involved with this organization? What makes you passionate about this organization? (If at all possible, please have ~3 members answer one of these questions!) 

Lauren Lange – I became involved with the organization my freshman year, because I was continuing my interest in competitive bowling from high school. I never would have imagined I would become so involved, let alone become the president of the club. However, I love bowling and I love the way our club brings together students of all ages, from all areas of study, to have fun and enjoy the sport!

Jessica Beadleston – I have always loved bowling and growing up I watched my grandparents bowl in a league. During my undergrad, I became president of the bowling club at Truman State University. When I decided to attend school at Iowa I also decided I wanted to join the bowling club as well. Getting involved with an organization outside my major has allowed me to make lifelong friendships and learn more about students at Iowa. The club also has taught me more about bowling and has helped me to become a better bowler.

Cole Garwood – I got involved because I didn’t want to be stuck doing school work 24/7, I wanted to go out and join a club to make new friends while I enjoyed my passion of bowling. What makes me so passionate about this organization is that it’s so low key and welcoming; there’s no judging or cliques, everyone gets along and everyone knows each other so it’s nice. Also I’m passionate about bowling so I got involved to broaden my bowling skills and also have fun in a welcoming club

Katlyn Rozovics – I enjoyed bowling in high school and wanted to continue. Then once I joined I found everyone to be really nice and welcoming. It’s a club I want to stay around and people I want to hang out with. Bowling is a great way to just have a good time, be social, meet people you’d never otherwise talk to. No matter what bowling ability you have, it is possible to have a fun time.

Tim Dawson – I got involved with bowling club to meet new people. It’s really nice to have friends that have the same hobbies as you. I’m passionate about bowling club because of the great memories and friendships that it has brought me.

Q. What social media does your organization utilize? (links, if possible) 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UniversityOfIowaBowlingClub/

OrgSync: https://orgsync.com/17413/chapter

Gmail: uibowlingclub@gmail.com

Q. If a student is interested in joining this organization, how should they go about it/who should they contact? 

A. Student can contact us via a message on Facebook or sending us an email!  All students and all skill levels are welcome to join us at the Colonial Lanes Bowling Alley on Sundays at 7:00 PM.

Q. Is there anything else you would like to share? 

A. All students interested in our club are welcome to join.  All skill levels are welcome.  The bowling club has a competitive and non-competitive side.  Throughout the school year the Bowling Club participates in fundraising and social events to help raise money for the club.  Please contact us if interested!

Leave a Reply

