Creating a Communication Plan

As we reach the end of our fourth week, we’ve learned college can be stressful, difficult, amazing, and weird all before lunch time. It’s hard to be in a new town, state, or even country. Luckily, you have a support team at home waiting for you – whether it’s a friend, a parent, a grandparent, or a pet. You have someone or something supporting you and in our busy college lives we might forget to communicate with home (although it might be hard to talk to a pet). Don’t get me wrong, this is something I’m very guilty of…I’m a busy woman sometimes, so calling home or having a communication plan feels like well this:

ccc

Here are my top three tips for communicating with the home team whoever it may be.

  1. Call:

This might seem very simple but it’s true. You have to take the first step and call before you can move down the list anymore.

et.jpg

2. Celebrate the wins and the losses:

When college or life gets tough you might turn to your team. I am very guilty of calling my mom every time I am struggling and on the good days I am more likely to high five a friend. Let your support team in on everything, let them know when college is amazing and when you are really riding the struggle bus.

eeee

3. Listen:

This is another one I know I am guilty of… (Sorry mom). I call my mom to tell her all about my busy week, how fun/hard college is, ask her to send me cookies, and then hang up. I didn’t realize until much later I had no idea what was going on in her life. It’s important that even if you have a million things you want to say to allow the other person to speak.

 

~ Alison K.

Featured Image:

https://now.uiowa.edu/2012/10/black-and-gold-blowout

Additional Images in descending order:

http://www.mememaker.net/meme/communication03/

http://www.zmescience.com/science/your-smartphone-can-help-stephen-hawking-discover-alien-life-7284322/

http://dariodallalasta.com/2015/12/29/my-breakfast-club-counterpart/

 

 

Leave a Reply

